• To find out who your chid's counselor is, please check your Home Access account. If you have any questions, you can call Jane Shapiro at 415-380-3537.

    Students stay with their counselor throughout their four years at Tam and are encouraged to get to know their counselor and utilize the many services that Tam has to offer in the Counseling Department. Counselors work with students regarding academic, personal and social issues based on self-referral, teacher referral, and parent referral. 


     Scott Birkestrand Scott Birkestrand, Counselor

           "The world's problems begin with the belief that some human lives are more valuable than others."

           -Nelson Mandela

           To contact: 415-380-3554 or email at sbirkestrand@tamdistrict.org  


    Sue Chelini and Evelyn Dorsett, Interim Counselors

    To contact Sue Chelini: 415-380-3508 or email at schelini@tamdistrict.org

    To contact Evelyn Dorsett: 415-380-3571 or email at edorsett@tamdistrict.org


    Alex Hunt Alexandra Hunt, Counselor

          I am constantly amazed and inspired by our students.  So much growing up happens in these four years and to help our kids tackle obstacles, figure out who they are, and realize their potential has been my greatest pleasure.

         “At the end of the day, we can endure much more than we think we can.” – Frida Kahlo

         To contact: 415-380-3519 or email at ahunt@tamdistrict.org 


    Sandra Pula  Sandra Pula, Counselor

        "You have to learn to get up from the table when love is no longer being served."  -     Nina Simone

            To contact: 415-380-3540 or email at: spula@tamdistrict.org

     


    Jane Zimmerman Jane Zimmerman, Counselor

     Jane Zimmerman is a Marin County Native, and graduated from San Rafael High School.  She earned her BA at UCSD and worked for many years in after school Youth Development programs in San Francisco and Marin County.  She earned her Masters and Counseling Credential at USF in 2013. Jane believes that education is one of the most powerful tools for positive social change and is  inspired every day by the amazing young people she has gotten to know at Tam High School.  Her heroes are Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Malala Yousafzi 

                                  To contact: 415-380-3562 or email at: jzimmerman@tamdistrict.org


    Support Staff

    Jane Shapiro Jane Shapiro, Counseling Secretary 

    To contact: 415-380-3537 or email at: jshapiro@tamdistrict.org

     


    Melanie Voorsanger Melanie Voorsanger: College & Career Center Specialist

    Melanie Voorsanger has always been passionate about education and personal growth. She has worked with young people through teaching dance, directing theater, working for youth empowerment programs and with other local non-profits. It is a daunting task for students to figure out their first steps after high school, and Melanie is committed to making that process less anxiety-inducing and more exciting and accessible for the students at Tam.

    To contact: 415-380-3582 or email at: mvoorsanger@tamdistrict.org


     

    Greg Davison, School to Career Liaison

    To contact: 415-380-3484 or email at: gdavison@tamdistrict.org

Last Modified on June 21, 2019